A special project by Canada2020.

What needs to change to see more women lead in politics? Well, the sole women to have reached the top have some advice. This open letter to Canadians offers words of wisdom from these remarkable leaders.

Only twelve women have ever reached Canada?s most senior political role: as a First Minister (Prime Minister or Premier). The leadership of these remarkable women spans three decades, crosses political stripes, and extends from coast to coast to coast.

No Second Chances is about examining the rise and fall of these women – and what their experiences reflect about us as Canadians.

Twelve Women. Three Decades. One Journey.
This is No Second Chances.

More Videos

The PodcastLatest Episode

Finale, Part 3: Women In Politics

The second panel of the day was moderated by filmmaker and President of Komal Minhas Inc., Komal Minhas, and included input from former Premier of Ontario, Kathleen Wynne, former Premier of Alberta, Alison Redford, and former Premier of P.E.I Catherine Callbeck.?The panelists spoke about what it was like when there were six female premiers in Canada, what still gives them hope about women’s place in politics, and how they got up after the fall.

Warning: Use of undefined constant soundcloud_embed_code - assumed 'soundcloud_embed_code' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/customer/www/nosecondchances.ca/public_html/wp-content/themes/ds_nsc/front-page.php on line 115

The Event

No Second Chances will culminate in a historic event where Canada?s female First Ministers come together for a moderated, future-focused conversation about how we can strengthen Canadian democracy and address the long-standing underrepresentation of women in Canadian politics.

If you haven’t been following No Second Chances, you can hear directly from these women through Canada 2020?s new weekly podcast

Learn more

Get Updates

Get updates on the No Second Chances project and other initiatives from Canada 2020.

* indicates required

The First MinistersAlison Redford

Premier of Alberta • October 2011 to March 2014


The First MinistersCaroline Cochrane

Premier of the Northwest Territories • October 24, 2019 - Present


The First MinistersCatherine Callbeck

Premier of Prince Edward Island • January 1993 to October 1996


The First MinistersChristy Clark

Premier of British Columbia • March 2011 to July 2017


The First MinistersEva Aariak

Premier of Nunavut • November 2008 to November 2013


The First MinistersKathleen Wynne

Premier of Ontario • February 2013 to June 2018


The First MinistersKathy Dunderdale

Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador • December 2010 to January 2014


The First MinistersKim Campbell

Prime Minister of Canada • June 1993 to November 1993


The First MinistersNellie Cournoyea

Premier of the Northwest Territories • November 1991 to November 1995


The First MinistersPat Duncan

Premier of the Yukon • May 2000 to November 2002


The First MinistersPauline Marois

Premier of Quebec • September 2012 to April 2014


The First MinistersRachel Notley

Premier of Alberta • May 2015 to Present


The First MinistersRita Johnston

Premier of British Columbia • April 1991 to November 1991



Technology & Connection Partner