A special project by Canada2020.

What needs to change to see more women lead in politics? Well, the sole women to have reached the top have some advice. This open letter to Canadians offers words of wisdom from these remarkable leaders.

Only twelve women have ever reached Canada’s most senior political role: as a First Minister (Prime Minister or Premier). The leadership of these remarkable women spans three decades, crosses political stripes, and extends from coast to coast to coast.

No Second Chances is about examining the rise and fall of these women – and what their experiences reflect about us as Canadians.

Twelve Women. Three Decades. One Journey.
This is No Second Chances.

More Videos

The PodcastLatest Episode

Finale, Part 1: Setting The Stage

On June 19th, the No Second Chances project came to a close with a major event held in Ottawa. It was the largest gathering of female first ministers in Canadian history. Kate Graham opened the day with introductory remarks, followed by a keynote speech from former Premier of Alberta, Rachel Notley.
Notley spoke about the known, universal barriers that stand in the way of women’s leadership in politics, the importance of building alliances across party lines, and a new troubling development that will likely prevent women from entering the ring at all.

Get Updates

Get updates on the No Second Chances project and other initiatives from Canada 2020.

* indicates required

The First MinistersAlison Redford

Premier of Alberta • October 2011 to March 2014


The First MinistersCaroline Cochrane

Premier of the Northwest Territories • October 24, 2019 - Present


The First MinistersCatherine Callbeck

Premier of Prince Edward Island • January 1993 to October 1996


The First MinistersChristy Clark

Premier of British Columbia • March 2011 to July 2017


The First MinistersEva Aariak

Premier of Nunavut • November 2008 to November 2013


The First MinistersKathleen Wynne

Premier of Ontario • February 2013 to June 2018


The First MinistersKathy Dunderdale

Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador • December 2010 to January 2014


The First MinistersKim Campbell

Prime Minister of Canada • June 1993 to November 1993


The First MinistersNellie Cournoyea

Premier of the Northwest Territories • November 1991 - November 1995


The First MinistersPat Duncan

Premier of the Yukon • May 2000 to November 2002


The First MinistersPauline Marois

Premier of Quebec • September 2012 to April 2014


The First MinistersRachel Notley

Premier of Alberta • May 2015 to April 2019


The First MinistersRita Johnston

Premier of British Columbia • April 1991 to November 1991



Technology & Connection Partner